Breaking News

Osun SWAN Inducts Kayode Oduoye, Jide Bewaji As Patrons Tomorrow, Honours Others

A philanthropist who is also a governorship aspirant in the next year's forthcoming election in Osun State, Dr. Kayode Oduoye and a business mogul, Jide Bewaji will on Sunday, October 29, 2017, be inducted as patrons of the Osun State chapter of Sports Writers Association of Nigeria, SWAN.

Amiloaded gathered this through a release issued by the association stating that the two icons will be inducted at Atlantis Civic and Events Centre, Osogbo by 1pm.

The ceremony will also include an award session for outstanding individuals and corporate organisations who have distinguished themselves in Sports administration, entrepreneurship/innovations, journalism, officiating, participation, community service amongst other.

A lady weightlifter, Islamiyat Yusuf, who won three gold medals for Osun State at the just concluded 3rd National Youth Games in Ilorin and another three gold medals for Nigeria at the African Youth Weightlifting Championship in Entebbe, Uganda will receive a Meritorious Gold Award of OSUNSWAN for her unmatched feat.

Similarly, a consistent coach of Osun Taekwondo team, Coach Ikekwu will be honoured for his selfless service to the state.

Commissioner for Sports in the State, Hon. Biyi Odunlade will receive award in Sports Administration while Otunba Ademola Adebayo and Hon.L.B. Ayeni will be recognized for selfless services to the development of football at the grassroots.

The proprietor of the defunct Omidiran Babes and a member of the House of Representatives, Hon. Ayo Omidiran and Sen. Babajide Omoworare top the list of awardees.

Two grassroots coaches, Ajere and Egun are to be honoured for their contributions to the growth of the Round Leather Game while a female Referee in the state, Bisola Popoola will go home with the SWAN award for her outstanding performance.

A former player of the defunct NEPA FC of Osogbo and an NFF match commissioner, Tunji Adeyemi will be rewarded for his services to the state and the nation.

Two ex-internationals, Dr.Felix Owolabi Akinloye and Ademola Adesina will not go unnoticed as they have been listed to receive awards at the occasion.

Veteran sports journalist and one of the pillars of support for SWAN, smollete Adetoyese Shittu-Alamu will be in the House to receive his plague while prominent names like Akin Alabi, Kunle Soname, Tunji Brown and Fatai Buhari are expected to be in attendance to pick up their awards.

Highlight of the occasion will be the induction of the former Secretary General of the NFF, Chief Taiwo Ogunjobi as the PILLAR OF SPORTS in Osun State.

Chairman of the occasion is the  Speaker, Osun House of Assembly, Rt.Hon. Najeem Folasayo Salam while the Lagos FA Chairman and the Vice President of NFF, Barr. Seyi Akinwumi has been listed as the Special Guest of Honour for the occasion.

No comments

Amiloaded readers are solely responsible for their comments, Their comments does not represent the views of the admin.

We have a comment policy, if we find your comment insultive and not good for others to read, we will be forced to remove it.

Thanks.....keep commenting, we love them